Puliyogare

Posted on Updated on


Puliyogare is the Tamilnadu delicacy. It is now available in almost all the restaurants in places like Bangalore. We can also prepare at home using the mix available commercially – there is a choice of quite a few brands with most notable being MTR. However, me having brought up in Bangalore and with many childhood friends from Tamilnadu, I am used to the authentic Poliyogare taste and hence prefer to make the mix at home. This is a recipe I borrowed from my one of my friends – it uses the mix posted in the previous post. This is one of the weekend dishes at home and everyone loves this one. And I hope you guys do too !

What you need to have:

1. Rice – 1 cup

2. Puliyogare mix

3. Cooking oil 3-4 Teaspoons

Sona Masoori rice washed

What you do with what you have:

1. Wash rice corns and keep it aside for about 10 minutes so that it is dries up.

2. Prepare rice in the cooker as usual so that the rice corns are separate and do not touch each other. (Adding if old rice 1:1 and 3/4 water or so) The rice prepared should be as shown in the image below. Allow it to cool and add 2-3 teaspoons of cooking oil and mix well .

Cooked Rice

2. When rice is cooled mix Puliyogare Masala ( See earlier recipe ) and serve it cool when ready. This dish is always served cool only, since the Masala is mixed with rice only when the rice corns are cooled. The left over will taste even better the next day. Ready to serve Puliyogare is as shown in the image below.

Puliyogare Masala(Gojju)

Ready to serve Puliyogare rice

Ready to serve Puliyogare with Potato chips

Good to know:

1. The measurement of puliyogare masala which I have put up in my earlier post is sufficient for 1 heaped cup of rice, but make sure that you taste and then add the additional masala since the chilly powder one uses depends upon the spice level of that chilly.

2. The dish should be sour & medium spice. If the masala is prepared well in advance then time taken to prepare the dish should be only around 30 minutes. One can prepare this dish with even left over rice , provided rice corns is separate, else it will be tasteless.

7 thoughts on “Puliyogare

    Supreeth said:
    October 9, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Hello Aunty,

    tummi kashi asa chi….I am going thru the blog and am excited to see so many of my favorite (konkani) dishes listed here with a detailed step by step process along with photographs. However I noticed that some of the images are not appearing on the website. Not sure if it is a problem with my browser. for ex – i could not see the pictures of Tendle Thalasani. As I follow your instructions to cook a particular dish, I would like to compare how it looks to what you have posted here 🙂 only then can I say I have been able to follow the instructions accurately 🙂

    Thanks with Regards,
    Supreeth

    prathibalrao responded:
    October 10, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Hi Supreeth,

    I think this must be a prob with ur browser. The reason being that i have not yet recieved this type of complaint till now. So please check it out. You can even check it out with sharath i think. Isn’t it so???

    prathibalrao responded:
    October 10, 2008 at 6:16 am

    Supreeth,

    I tried the post you mentioned on 2 browsers from 2 computers and it worked okay. Could you check again ? Or do you know other posts where you saw this problem ?

    prathibalrao responded:
    October 10, 2008 at 7:13 am

    Hi Supreeth,

    I just got this type of complaint once in the begining and I advised them to try thru Mozila, which worked out better.

    Anjali said:
    October 26, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Hi Aunty,
    For long I wanted to make this gojju at home, but had never found the recipe.Finally I prepared it last week.It tasted great and was a good lunch box dish as well!
    Thanks,
    Anjali

    prathibalrao responded:
    October 27, 2008 at 1:26 am

    Hi Anjali,

    I think long time since u went thru the blog. I had put it up actually 3 week’s back. Any way u got it right no, good then.

    […] use it in almost as seasoning in many of the rice items like the Bisibele bhath, Vangi bhath and Puliyogare. Today I would like to put up Peanut Holige which I learnt from one of my friends when we were in […]

Leave a Reply

