Capsicum Sukkhe (Capsium in Coconut gravy)

Posted on Updated on


About Capsicum Sukkhe

I learnt this dish from my mom (although she prepared it without potatoes). Over the years though I found that adding potatochanges not only the form of the dish but also the taste. Capsicum Sukkhe is a side-dish for lunch either with rice or with rotis. Since capsicums are now available in 2 or three varieties, make sure you use the big variety (they are less spicy). During our stay in the US earlier this year, I saw a variety of capsicums (although they call it pepper), both in terms of size and color. Another dish made from this variety of capsicum is capsicum bajje – dipped in besan (chana atta) and deep fried.

What you need to have:

Capsicum (big) – 200 grams

Potato – 100 grams

Onions – 100 grams

Ingredients of the dish
Basic ingredients

Ingredient for Masala/Gravy:

Grated coconut – 50 grams

Red chilli – 3 in number

Tamarind pulp – 1/2 teaspoon

Corriander seeds – 1 teaspoon

Fenugreek seeds – 5-6

Jaggery(optional)

Ingredients of the Masala

Ingredients of the Masala

What you do with what you have:

1. Wash capcicum and potato (pealed) length-wise.

2. Cut onions lengthwise.

3. Fry red chilli, corriander seeds, fenugreek in a spoon in oil seperately and keep aside.

4. Prepare masala by grinding grated coconut, fried coriander seeds, fenugreek seeds, tamarind pulp and red chilli in the mixer to a medium coarse consistency by adjusting the water.

5. Place a broad based bowl on gas and fry onions in 3 teaspoons of cooking oil until they are transparent.

6. Add ground masala from Step 4 to it and let it cook for a while.

7. Add cut vegetables and salt to it and allow it to cook until the vegetables have boiled well on medium flame. If you are adding jaggery, you may do so at this point. Keep the bowl/pan closed throughout.

What it looks like:

Ready to serve Capsicum Masala

Relish Sukkhe with either rice and dal or even rottis.

How long it takes: 30 minutes

Number of servings: 4

2 thoughts on “Capsicum Sukkhe (Capsium in Coconut gravy)

    Haru said:
    March 3, 2011 at 4:22 am

    I assumed that I had given my feedback here, better late than never!
    I made Capsicum Sukkhe twice in the past month! I guess this itself is testimony to how well it turned out and was appreciated. I love the meticulousness of your instructions and following them is the reason why the Sukkhe turned out well both times and infact, better the second time.
    The first time, I think I used coconut powder as a substitute for grated coconut and also over-fried the seasoning which made the masala go brown. I rectified both in the second try and particularly nervous this time as I was serving it as the main highlight to a bunch of my husband’s hungry bachelor ex-housemates! Everybody loved it and I have even forwarded the recipe to a couple of friends.

    Request – Can you put up a picture of how the wet masala / gravy should look at the end of grinding? I had a tough time guessing when I had made it the first time.

    Rest assured, it goes into my book of recipes that I’ll gift to my grandchildren at their weddings ! 😀

    Shruti said:
    February 14, 2013 at 8:03 am

    This turned out really tasty !

Leave a Reply

