Coconut burfi(chikki)

Posted on Updated on


About Coconut Burfi

Coconut burfi is one of the favorite sweets of every one in my family. My memory of this dish goes back to my schooling days in Bangalore where burfi was available for mere 5 paise per piece (along with peanut chikki which cost the same.) Those days these sweets were among the most fancied amongst us. These days though children love to eat biscuits and chocolates of different varieties that are available in the market. Last week being the Diwali week I thought I may as well prepare some sweets and put up on the blog.

So here goes coconut burfi. Its simpler than you think.

What you need to have:

Fresh grated coconut – 1 cup (100 grams)

Sugar – 1 cup (200 grams)

Boiled potato (small) – 1

Pure ghee – 1 teaspoon

Cardamom – 5

Ingredients of Coconut Burfi

Ingredients of Coconut Burfi

What you do with what you have:

1. Crush both grated coconut and sugar in the mixer/blender to a smooth consistency.

2. Boil potato in a pressure cooker/microwave. Once done grate it and set aside.

3. Take 1 tea spoon ghee in a shallow bowl placed on the gas. On melting, add coconut and sugar mixture from Step 1. Also add the grated potato from Step 2.

4. Keep stirring on low/medium flame till the mixture stops sticking to the bowl.

5. Add crushed cardamom to the above mixture, stir and switch off the gas.

6. Spread the burfi mixture on a clean flat surface (you may use a wooden board – see image below) Roll the mixture with a chapathi roller and cut it immediately into required shapes and size.

Burfi mix spread over to cut into pieces

Burfi mix spread over to cut into pieces

Store them in in air tight containers . It remains afresh for about 15-20 days. You may even choose to refrigerate it.

What it looks like:

Burfi cut into required shape

How long it takes: 30 minutes

Number of servings: 20-25 piece

Note: Frozen coconut may also be used in preparing burfi.

Warning: Do not put off cutting the mixture into pieces – allowing them to cool before doing so would mean that you will be left with one big rock size piece of coconut-sugar mixture or a powder of both!Also please donot use decicated coconut powder as it has no water content in it like the fresh /frozen grated coconut.

17 thoughts on “Coconut burfi(chikki)

    Lalitha Puranik said:
    November 30, 2007 at 6:33 am

    Hi Prathiba, I tried your Coconut Burfi which is quite different from the one I do regularly. But I am happy to say that your recipe has come out very well and morever it is very easy to prepare. Indeed your work on collection of recipes under one roof is applaudable. Good work..

    prathibalrao responded:
    November 30, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Thanx Lalitha . Please pass on the link to ur friends.

    Guru J. said:
    January 23, 2008 at 2:46 am

    Pratibhaji,

    Indeed your website is wonderful. Honestly, I don’t know cooking except Rava Laddoo & Besan Laddo, which I started doing recently because I am devotee of Ganesha & I make Laddoos on every Sankashti. I wanted to learn some more recipes & your website helped me a lot.
    If possible, I request you to publish the Rava Laddoo & Besan Laddoo recipes as the one’s I make still don’t turn out good everytime ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks!

    prathibalrao responded:
    January 23, 2008 at 5:33 am

    Hi Guru,

    Thanx 4 ur comments. I will put up ur request in a few days.

    Guru J. said:
    January 30, 2008 at 2:50 am

    Sorry for misspelling you name. Thanks for your msg.

    Anjali said:
    November 3, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Can you pls tell me whats the reason for adding potatoes here? Infact mom makes it without it. Is there any change in its taste?

      prathibalrao responded:
      November 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm

      Hi Anjali,

      Whenever one prepares coconut burfi you need a base for it to set. Some people add wheat atta , some add thick milk, some add am little khova. I have added potato which gives a unique flavour. Just give a try.

    […] burfi, Milk burfi, Almond burfi, Seven cup burfi, Maida-suji burfi, Besan Burfi, Tomato Burfi, Coconut Burfi and Peanut Burfi ! This is a very simple burfi though which I learntย  from my Gujrati friend back […]

    kavitha said:
    July 14, 2010 at 7:24 am

    Hi aunty:

    i tried the coconut burfi. It came out well and my husband liked it a lot.

    Thanks for sharing your cooking experience.

      prathibalrao responded:
      July 14, 2010 at 7:40 am

      Hi Kavitha,

      Thanx a lot for ur feed back.

    Pratiba Bhat said:
    July 14, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    I’ve never tried with potatoes. ๐Ÿ™‚ Doesn’t the taste change when we add potatoes? ๐Ÿ™‚

      prathibalrao responded:
      July 14, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      Hi Pratiba Bhat,

      This is my mom’s recipe. Boiled potato acts as a base to the burfi and sets faster. Do try out plese.

    […] also to decorate some of the salads and few side dishes as well. I have earlier uploaded the recipe coconut burfi with sugar, and today I would like to put up coconut burfi with jaggery in combination with wheat atta. This […]

    shabana said:
    December 6, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Thanx a lott i was searching for COCONUT BURFI RECIPE for so long.. now i gott itt and i love the way u resent in step by step.. it really helps that too with pictures… i have already shared it with so many frnds they also loved itt….

      prathibalrao responded:
      December 6, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      Hi Shabana,

      Thanx a lot for ur feed back.

    choosing good quality saffron said:
    April 6, 2013 at 6:20 am

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I should check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking
    into your web page for a second time.

      prathibalrao responded:
      April 6, 2013 at 8:51 pm

      Hi,

      Thanx a lot for your encouraging comments and welcome to my blog any time. Do pass on the link of my blog among your friends community.

Leave a Reply

