Vegetable Kurma


Vegetable kurma is a delicacy of Karnataka and is a very popular dish served as a combination with Ghee rice/Puri/Parata. My mom used to prepare this in my childhood days. This recipe though has evolved from my mom’s recipe via experiences and consultation with a few friends over the years. Kurma is one of the unanimously favored dishes in my family.

Even though its just vegetables in some gravy, it takes a little while to prepare – but certainly ideal for a weekend evening with Puri/Chapati.

What you need to have:

1. Fresh Green Peas/Tinned               1 cup

2. French Beans                                 1/4 cup

3. Carrrots diced                               1/4 cup

4. Potatoes chopped                         1/4 cup

Ingredients of Veg-Kurma

Ingredients of Seasoning:

1. Onions chopped            2 Tablespoons

2. Masala leaf/Tej patha    1

3. Turmeric powder           1 Teaspoon

4. Cumin seeds                 1 Teaspoon

Ingredients of Seasoning

Ingredients for Masala:

1. Fresh grated coconut                  1/2 cup

2. Green chillies                              3

3. Ginger                                         1/2 ” piece

4. Garlic cloves                               5-6

5. Corriander leaves                       A handful

6. Onion                                         one small

7. Turmeric powder                        1/2 Teaspoon

8. Garam masala powder               1 Teaspoon

9. Cashews                                     8-10

10. Tamarind pulp                          1/2 Teaspoon

Ingredients of Wet Masala

What you do with what you have:

1. Wash and cut beans, carrots, potatoes lengthwise as shown in the image above and cook it in the cooker. As usual add a little salt to avoid overcooking them.

2. Chop onions also lengthwise as shown in the image above.

3. Grind the ingredients of the wet Masala in the mixer adding water in steps to a smooth consistency and is as shown in the image below.

Ready Ground Masala

4. Place a wide bottomed bowl on the flame with 3-4 teaspoons of cooking oil in it.  On heating add Tej patha  and on frying add half the quantity of cumin seeds to it.  On sputtering add the chopped onions, turmeric powder and a little salt to it.  (The rest of the cumin seeds are to be added at the end for extra flavour.)

5. When onions turn transparent, add the ground Masala from step 3 to it and stir well for about two minutes on a low flame.  When done add cooked vegetables from step 1 to it.

6. Add salt if necessary to adjust taste and add water to adjust the consistency.  Garnish with chopped corriander leaves and the remaining cumin seeds.

Ready to serve Veg-Kurma

Serve with Roti/Chapathi/Ghee rice.

Veg Kurma with Chapathis

65 thoughts on “Vegetable Kurma

  1. Hi Dawn,

    I have added green coriander leaves to the masala and hence the colour to the dish. I don’t know what is green coriander powder. Please clarify.

  2. vani sudheer-1-07-2009

    tried u r recipe its realy great its good wit chapathi and poori also.thank u very much.

  3. Hi. I made this today for breakfast along with puris. It came out simply superb. My husband loved it as also me. Its very yummy and smells marvelous.

  4. Hi,

    My wife made this for a Konkani gathering (followed the recipe exactly) on my recommendation. We ate it with Chapatis and it was just fantastic – kids enjoyed it fully too.

    Thank you
    Dinkar

  5. I have a doubt, Ingredients for wet masal can be fried before make in to paste….we use to do in this way…Is this method gives different taste compared to urs

    • Hi Parvathi,

      Normally i donot fry any ingredients of wet masalaa. I just fry the masa later with the onions as written in the recipe.

  6. hiii,
    so my second item was this kurma and even this came out excellent…nice recipe.. so now im planning to try out all the recipes one by one..ill keep posting..thank you..

      • hiiii,
        no i didnt get u.. KREC means. whats ur sons name .i was an army school student till intermediate. did my ug and pg in st.francis womens college hyderabad..so these r my details. now i stay here in hyderabad….happily married with a six yr old daughter..was working earlier then quit to take care of my daughter now a complete housewife..

      • Hi Sherin,

        So she is different as i confirmed the same from my son. I hope i am clear.

  7. hi !! this is my all time favourite recipe… the ingredients are so simple and it cames out great everytime. at times even i substitute fried gram for cashew…. also this is not so spicy as sagu…. mild and yumm !!!

  8. I tried this recipe and it came out very well. I added little bit of tomato paste instead of tamarind pulp..
    Thanks for the wonderful recipe…..

  9. HI i tried out this receipe it came really good. when i was cooking this receipe my husband was keep roaming near the kitchen because of its flavour smell. Thanks a lot for posting this receipe.

  10. i tried this recope yday and u knw my hubby cdnt belived that it was prepared at home he thought like i ordered from hotel… it was awesome…. yday night i had it with roti(chapati) and tday mor i had with puri.. taste superb with puri thanx for the recipe…. gr8 jobb keep it up…

    • Hi Mrudula,

      For Kurma we use Onions and garlic in wet masala Where as we do not use onion and garlic at all for sagu. We only use onion while cooking veggies.I think you may please check the recipes.

  11. Hi Ma,

    Finally decided to make your signature hit-dish for a nice cozy Saturday lunch. Took me about 30 mins to make, especially since I used the frozen cut vegetables. I forgot to add tamarind pulp to the wet masala, but it didn’t seem to lessen the taste.

    By following ‘most’ of your instructions, I was able to make a delicious vegetable Kurma that was served with hot rotis and pineapple juice. This is definitely going to be the highlight of the next lunch/dinner party I host ! I also think it will taste great with Idiyappam… yummmm. Looking forward to experimenting with your other recipes.

    • Hi Harini dear,

      Thanx a lot for your wonderful feed back. So as said do try out some more recipes . Rate it as u have done for other recipes. So bye for now. Take care. I can put up a note saying one can even use decicated coconut 4 da masala.

  12. Hello Pratibha Aunty, I’m a young girl and learning to cook through all your reciepes here. I have tried some in the past and they have come out so tasty. Thank you so much and i would like to ask you to kindly post me a plain carrot bhaji reciepe with pepper powder. I would appreciate it a lot. Also, on this website of yours the “search” tool has somehow dissaperead and i find it hard to search for particular reciepes that i need. Could you pls. get it back so that searching reciepes would be much more easier. Thanks again

    • Hi Harini dear,

      Wow thanx a lot for wonderful feed back and i am so happy you have tried out the recipe in your busy schedule. Really grea8.

  13. Hi,
    I like kurma bhaji, surely gonna try this:) thanx for posting it, really appreciate ur cooking style, lovely blog keep it up dear:)

    • Hi Mallika,

      Thanx a lot for your feed back and please pass on the link of this blog among your friends community.

  14. Hey , its been 6 months of my marriage and only today my hubby liked my cooking because of this side dish.. sooooooo happyy :)

  15. I just made this Kurma today a few failures with other Korma’s. I have to say this is by far the best and definitely the tastiest. Thank you

  16. thank you for posting this recipe…its a bit God-sent. I’ve had this curry in restaurants and always wanted to recreate it at home. You recipe has exactly the same taste and flavor. It is also very well-written. moreover, the visuals helped with the exact measurements.

    • Hi Natasha sareen,

      Thanx a lot for your feed back. This is actually not well visualised and i would like to revisit the same and put up more pictorials as in the recent recipes. I will mail you as soon as i complete it for sure. I request you to kindly please pass on the link of this blog among your friends community and oblige. Bye for now and tc.

  17. Just tried it ma’am… Tastes yummy.. Only question I have is …don’t we have to cook the gravy for sometime after adding vegetables?

Leave a Reply

